Register now for free
Updated news & team statistics
Read up to 1000 analyses per month
Immediate access after free registration
Stefan Ugljevarevic /
Liverpool claim the Premier League title
Since the 31st round it was clear: Liverpool would put an end to a 30-year drought and become the English champion. But it was only after round 37, and a furious 5-3 triumph over rival Chelsea, that Juergen Klopp's team received the trophy. For the successful German coach and for Liverpool, this is the third major achievement after winning the Champions League and FIFA Club World Cup.

'This means the world to me. It would be perfect with the fans in the stadium, but it's still a great moment for me,' were Klopp's words to Sky TV after this exciting match.

Although the confrontation against Chelsea didn't have much more relevance at that point, TV viewers were able to watch a football spectacle with a total of 8 goals. At Anfield Road, Liverpool led 3-1 at halftime, but things got exciting when Chelsea came close to a 3-4 score. But in the end, Oxlade-Chamberlain, after a Robertson assist, gave the final touch and scored 5-3.

Thus, Liverpool won the 19th league title - only Manchester United managed to collect more Premier League titles so far (20). After 30 years, Liverpool FC fans were finally ready to celebrate again - between 1976 and 1990, the then champions won the league ten times in 15 years. This sequence was followed by a long drought, which finally came to an end in 2020. Although the police ordered fans to stay home, according to official reports, about 3000 fans were celebrating at the stadium.

The German coach played an important role in Liverpool's progress - after taking office in October 2015, he turned the team into a top club.